The 2018 UniSport Nationals T20 Cricket Championships begin today in Campbelltown, with twelve Universities competing as part of the Div 1 National Sport Championship. The University of Sydney has selected a very strong squad of 15 for the tournament, captained by Blacktown’s Jordan Gauci.

University of Sydney squad:

Ben Bryant
Charles Cassell
Nicholas Craze
Charles Dummer
Elijah Eales
Jordan Gauci
Varun George
Will Graham
Andrew Hazard
Hugh Kermond
Hayden Kerr
Charles Litchfield
Devlin Malone
Aidan Peek
Michael Robinson

The University of Sydney side will begin their campaign against SUT at 2:30pm this afternoon. They also have fixtures against Australian College of Physical Education and Deakin University on Tuesday, and against James Cook University and University of Technology Sydney on Wednesday, before the finals on Thursday.

Sydney University players Billy Barge (Australian College of Physical Education) and Murray Miles (Western Sydney University) will also be competing in the tournament, representing their respective academic Universities.

Since the transformation of the event to the T20 format in 2007, this event has seen The University of Sydney (USYD) and The University of New South Wales (UNSW) be the dominant forces over the last 11 years, making up 12 of the 22 places available in the gold medal match and claiming seven titles between them.

USYD have lifted the trophy on four of the five occasions they have made the final (2007/08/15/16), with UNSW have a slightly worse conversion rate of three titles (2012/13/17) from seven finals.

Good luck to all involved!