15435_SYDNUNSP_Limited Over Champions (2).jpg

Sydney Uni Cricket Club claimed the NSW Premier Cricket Limited Overs Cup in a tightly contested grand final against Parramatta at Old Kings Oval on Sunday. 

Having finished 5th in the preliminary rounds, the team had to overcome Sydney (4th) in the Quarter Final, and then Bankstown (3rd) in the Semi Final to progress to the Grand Final to take on Parramatta (2nd) on Sunday.

Despite a flying start, with Hayden Kerr (25 from 19) again blitzing the opening bowlers, regular wickets in the first 15 overs and saw us 4-86, and teetering on the edge of disaster. 

Intelligent batting and hard running crafted a match winning partnership of 122 runs between Damien Mortimer (71 from 113) and Tim Cummins (121no from 100). Cummins was ruthless at the end hitting his last 50 runs off about 30 balls to take a defendable total of 250 to a winning total of 7-277.

Taking the momentum from the end of the batting innings, Tim Ley added yet another early scalp to his list, but Parramatta’s top order were determined. Despite being behind the run rate throughout, Parramatta were well placed at 3-212 needing about 8 runs an over with 7 wickets in hand.

A double strike by Devlin Malone (2-47) changed the momentum of the match, picking up the dangerous Brenton Cherry (75 from 68) and Luke Dempsey (11 from 10). Parramatta all-rounder Tim Crittenden (20 from 11) gave Parramatta a late sniff, and with skipper Nick Bertus still there (68 from 84) the game was in the balance. 

The Students kept their cool with Tim Ley (3-48) and Hayden Kerr closing out the overs for a 5-run victory, Parramatta ending their innings at 8-272. 

It is the Club’s 2nd Limited Overs Cup with the last in 2010-11.

Congratulations must go to Liam Robertson and his team who have overcome adversity, and in the absence of NSW Blues, Nick Larkin and Ed Cowan, found a way to win big games.

A short sharp celebration session was had by all, including the small but parochial Uni Army supporter group in the outer, but there is more work to be done with Round 15 of the NSW Premier Cricket competition a must win for all grades.