The University of Sydney T20 cricket team, made up predominately of Sydney Uni Cricket Club members, has cruised into the Quarter Finals of the Australian University Games on the Gold Coast this week.

As defending champions, U-Syd was entered into Pool A against Latrobe University and Edith Cowan University. The powerful U-Syd team accounting for both comfortably, chasing down Latrobe's total of 104 with the loss of just 1 wicket inside 10 overs on Monday, and ECU's 108, also losing only 1 wicket inside 10 overs.

With repecharge rounds scheduled for Wednesday, U-Syd took a well earned rest day (tough to handle rest days on the Gold Coast, we're sure), and will take on Canberra's Australian National University in a tougher quarter final this morning.

The winner of this quarter final likely to clash with powerhouse UNSW in a semi-final later this afternoon.

U-Syd will be looking to make it three Australian University Games titles in a row after claiming the 2015 and 2016 titles, which both earned them the right to represent Australia at the Redbull World Campus T20 Cricket Games.

The Australian Uni Games are scheduled for a change in format next year and will represent a G8 style tournament, with this year's tournament going towards qualification for 2018.

Results can be found here.

The final will be streamed live tomorrow.