The epic draw in last weekend's First Grade Premier Cricket final gave Sydney University its ninth First Grade premiership since the establishment of the competition in 1893-94.  The previous premierships were in 1909-10, 1911-12, 1913-14, 2002-03, 2004-05, 2010-11, 2012-12 and 2013-14.  University has won the competition four times in the last seven seasons.

Ryan Carters was named as the Benaud Medallist as the player of the final for his extraordinary 110 not out.  He has become only the fourth Sydney University player to win the Banaud Medal, after Danny Waugh (2002-03), Scott Henry (2010-11) and Stuart Clark (2012-13).  Ryan's incredible innings, which occupied 526 minutes and 431 balls was (by either measure) the longest ever played for Sydney University in a First Grade match.  He hit his third century for the Club, and passed 500 runs for University this season.

Ed Cowan's sparkling 95 provided another remarkable highlight of a Final during which he was also named as the NSW Sheffield Shield player of the year, and the Steve Waugh Medallist.  During his innings he became only the fourth player to score 8000 runs for the Club (after Greg Mail, Ian Moran and Adam Theobald).

Tom Rogers picked a moment of crisis to hit his first half-century for the Club, a vital innings of 56.

And then there's Greg Mail, who announced his retirement at the conclusion of the Final.  He retires with 10,247 runs for Sydney University, and 15,242 runs in his overall First Grade career - both of which, you will hardly need reminding, are records, as are his 30 centuries for University and 43 First Grade centuries.  Congratulations on a truly exceptional career.