Votes have been tabulated in the Player of the Year following Round 1 action in the McDonald's NSW Premier Cricket competition and as would be expected, 6 players are in the lead on 3 points.

In First Grade, Club debutant Ashton May was voted player of the round for his contribution of 60 not out with the bat and 2-37 with the ball.

Dugald Holloway claimed the maximum points in 2nd Grade for his 34 and 3 -43; Ash Cowan in 3rd Grade for his 5-23 and 25 runs; Ryan Danne in 4th Grade for his 46 and 2-12; Sam Roby in 5th Grade for his dominant 66 not out; and Zohirul Islam in Metropolitan Cup for his innings of 122.

Other honorable mentions for the two and one point votes included Hamish Rogers for his 106 runs in Metropolitan Cup; Greg Mail for his 85 runs in 1st Grade; Devlin Malone for his 4-31 in 1st Grade; and Lewis McMahon for his 3-12 in 4th Grade.

Each round we will announce one Player of the Round, who will win a dinner for two at Surjits Indian Restaurant, and one Performance of the Round, who will win a $20 voucher at The Nags Head Hotel.

For round 1, Ashton May has claimed the Player for the Round for his all-round performance in 1st Grade's win over Campbelltown-Camden. As a debutant, Ashton will get the opportunity to sample the finest Indian food in Sydney from Surjits for the first time.

Performance of the Round goes out to club favourite and 3rd Grade skipper, Ash Cowan, for his match defining 5-23 to help defend a meagre total at St Paul's Oval. We're sure Ash will make full use of this Nags Head voucher.