Our boys put in a dominant display in Brisbane today in our bid to assert ourselves as the premier University Cricket Club in Australia as the take on Adelaide Uni, Melbourne Uni and Uni of Queensland in a Limited Overs tournament.

The tournament commenced with today's match-up against the ever-improving Adelaide Uni, which resulted in a strong showing with the ball to restrict AUCC to 174 runs from their 50 overs before chasing down the total in a canter. The bowlers shared the honours with Josh Toyer and Ben Joy claiming three wickets each and Jim Ryan chiming in with two, but it was Ben Trevor-Jones who was the standout leading the chase with an unbeaten 100 runs, passing the total with 8 wickets in hand.

The tournament is being used as an important pre-season exercise for each of the clubs involved with each of our competitions less than a month from commencing. This format has become even more crucial as the Sydney Cricket Association has just announced that the season will now commence with two Limited Overs matches rather than a traditional two-day match.

SUCC has taken a strong line-up to the tournament following our success over UQCC in the 3-day intervarsity match last weekend.

The squad includes a plethora of cricketing talent including Nick Larkin, Will Somerville, Tim Ley, Liam Robertson, Ben Trevor-Jones, David Miller, Josh Toyer, Ben Joy, Jim Ryan, Tom Decent, Michael Culkoff, Udayan Gaur and Liam Whitaker.

We will be looking to continue that form when we clash with Melbourne Uni before taking on hosts, Uni of Queensland on Sunday.

The Sunday clash against UQCC will be a memorable one, being the first opportunity for our lads to come up against former SUCC star, Scott Henry, who made the move to Brisbane during the off-season to chase a contract with Queensland.

This is the inaugural tournament, being hosted by UQCC, follows a positive Australian University Cricket Club forum last December that developed the concept and adopted this format as a trial towards a full national competition in the future.