By Georgina Pembroke.

The Sydney Grade Competition continues this weekend and SUCC First Grade journeys down to the iconic Glenn McGrath Oval at Sutherland to play the local team. This final match of the Limited Overs Competition is an exciting round with many NSW players available with the next round of BUPA Sheffield Shield matches not starting until February 7. First Grade are currently placed 9th and a win over Sutherland (6th place) will see them move in right direction. 

SUCC First Grade will be lead by long-serving batsman and captain, Greg Mail, and will welcome back NSW Blues opening bat, Nick Larkin, from injury.  


Scott Henry, a regular fixture in the NSW Blues team for a number of seasons, as well as Will Somerville, who has made his First Class debut earlier this summer, also feature in this round's First Grade clash. As a sign of their good form, Scott Henry, Will Sommerville and Nick Larkin have all been called up to play for NSW in the Futures League Clash against Western Australia starting at Blacktown International Sports Park on Australia Day (January 26).  

In other grades, Sydney University No. 1 Oval plays host to the Second Grade fixture against Sutherland. SUCC Second Grade are atop of the ladder and will look to extend their lead with a comfortable win over 6th place Sutherland. Third, Fourth, and Fifth Grade SUCC will play Sutherland at Sutherland Oval, St Paul's College, and Tonkin Oval respectively, with victories edging them closer to finals contention. 

In the Triforce Sports Metropolitan Cup, Sydney University will go up against North Sydney at St Andrews on Sunday, and in the Green Shield our boys play Bankstown in a highly anticipated and exciting Grand Final at Bankstown Memorial Oval on Australia Day (January 26). 

Overall in the SGC Club Championship, Sydney University are placed 3rd on 796 points, behind Manly-Warringah (947) and Penrith (827) and ahead of Sutherland (726). We can expect a tough weekend of matches but hopefully our boys can bring home the bacon and be successful. 

Sydney University First Grade selected team against Sutherland at Glenn McGrath Oval commencing at 10am: 

Scott O Henry
Nigel J Cowell
Ben Trevor-Jones (wk)
Nick Larkin
Gregory J Mail (c)
Liam S Robertson
Mark Faraday
David Miller
Timothy Ley
Darrius Visser
William E Somerville